top of page
  • Writer's pictureZach Peterson

1837 - EP (Review)

Updated: Jun 15, 2020


1837 ETS

Hardcore



Members:

Guitar- Josué Nieves

Bass- Jason Perez

Drums- Maurice Mauricio

Vocals- Calvin Spooner


~Choice Cuts~

"Round Table"

"32 Counts"




I first ran across 1837 at Archie’s Tavern on Rockwell in Ukranian Village. As I do most evenings between March and October, I spent the night biking between various shows, with the eventual destination set for Archie’s (please, pray for me in these trying times.) Archie’s Tavern is not a venue. It is a place I usually retreat to when I am in the space for a quiet, quick round. There is not much room, as a gigantic pool table occupies the majority of the floor. I never walk into Archie’s expecting a damn pit…


But what a happy accident that night turned out to be. Before I even get into the EP, I would like to highly recommend an 1837 live show. They absolutely brought the thunder and transformed the normally quiet corner bar into a pool of sweat and swinging arms. Steller musicians across the board, delivering an energetic progression of riffs behind hellish and powerful vocals. Rooted in metal, crafted with a mixture of modern and classic sounds, 5 star hardcore in my humble opinion. The ENERGY my god...


Since the show, I craved proper recordings of the set I heard that night; 1837 answered the call with their new untitled EP. Standing at just 4 songs/7 minutes, the EP is a window into the efforts of this group so far, as well as a well-produced, destructive EP to be added to any Chicago hardcore fan’s roster. 1837 refuses to waste time on the EP, launching immediately into opener “Round Table,” which quickly expresses 1837’s sound; big riffs, guttural vocals, and rhythmic breakdowns. “32 Counts” does not release the listener; the guitar sounds even bigger and the bass shines through on this track. “Green With Evil” integrates a bit more of a sludgy influence into 1837’s sound, as they focus all efforts on a tight, rhythmic, palm-muted riff. EP Closer “Human Control” offers a break from the raw intensity, favoring toward a more expansive composition and vocal delivery.


Hey, what else is there to say; do you like hardcore? The EP is 7 damn minutes, 1837 is certified NASTY, just go spin the thing. Available on all streaming services.


-Z



MORE MORE:


Social Media -- Media Bloody Media










Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page