top of page
  • Writer's pictureTheMetalKat

Q&A Session with Programmable Animal (Chicago, IL)


Why did you name your most recent EP “One Step to Hell”?


Drepsea: I had a series of unfortunate encounters, some with close friends driven purely by narcissistic backstabbing tendencies. Then just dealing with friends / loved ones around me having issues with drugs. One in particular was a heroin overdose, where I needed to perform CPR on them to save their life. Just a lot was happening, the record was a result of all the chaos that was forcefully encompassing my life. Literally, “blood, sweat, and tears.” The name seemed appropriate. One Step to Hell was a reflection of this, though no matter how close things seem to be “One Step to Hell,” we always have the choice to push forward and make our situations better. I needed to remind myself of that, and not let the troubling experiences control my every thought. Music growing up for me, was something I was instantly allured to since it gave a sense of empowerment. I wanted to make this record a bit more empowering to the listener, and if one of the tracks helps someone in any way, that truly makes it all worthwhile. How many songs are on “One Step to Hell”?

Drepsea: 7 What is your favorite song off this EP and why?

Drepsea: Each song reflects a certain situation I dealt with, so they are each special in their own way. I think my favorite to play though is Backstabber. What was your favorite part recording this EP?

Drepsea: I really love creating different sounds whether it be guitar, synths, or sampling sounds and distorting them. How long was the writing and recording process?

Drepsea: The record took about a year and a half to complete. We started recording at my studio and also at Producer Chuck Macak's studio (Born of Osiris, Fall of Troy, & Letlive.) Eventually we brought what we recorded to Producer Sean Beavan (Nine Inch Nails, Marilyn Manson, 3TEETH, Slayer, No Doubt.) We finished the record with him in 2020, had a blast working together. Who inspired you to come up with the lyrics and songs off the EP?

Drepsea: Some of the songs are inspired by particular people. It was a therapeutic way of getting it off my chest.

What was your favorite part about recording the video for “Backstabber”?

Drepsea: Playing around with the lighting and getting a reddish tint to the overall video.







What is next on the agenda for Programmable Animal?

Drepsea: Working with our label Negative Gain on future plans, writing another record, & touring when it’s safe for crowds to gather. Is there a hidden meaning in any of your music?

Drepsea: Nothing is really hidden, the words express how I feel about certain things. I view it as revealing my truth. There is esoteric symbolism within the art and music that some may not know the meaning. Now tell us about the band… Where did the name come from?


Drepsea: The band name revolves around the idea that we are programmed / influenced by our surroundings. Similar to philosopher John Locke’s theory of Tabula Rasa. The idea is that everyone is born as a blank slate and our experiences are what shape us. I’ve always been interested in the idea that depending on where we’re born, we could be an entirely different version of ourselves. That’s fascinating to me, are we really who we think we are? How many members are in your band and where did you all meet?

Drepsea: Our lineup has 3 members at the moment. Myself, Jay: our drummer, and Trent who’s on guitar. How long have you been a band for?

Drepsea: The band was started years ago as a solo project, I spent probably around 10 years making music. It eventually evolved into what it is today. How would you describe the music that you typically create?

Drepsea: I wanted to take the listener elsewhere, to create the personification of flesh in battle with the soul. Hence, the industrial sounds contesting against ambience. Overall there is an alternative rock and industrial metal tone. What is your favorite venue to play at?

Drepsea: Any venue at this point would be my favorite haha, simply due to the nature of the pandemic. Though we just need to be patient until it’s safe. Which musician would you like to collaborate with next?

Drepsea: 3TEETH If you could go open a show for any artist who would it be?

Drepsea: A few would be KoRn, Nine Inch Nails, 3TEETH. What got you into music?

Drepsea: I’ve always been attracted to music, it’s just what feels right and natural. Classical guitar is actually what I started playing. In school I used to play in a classical guitar ensemble and would compose pieces for it. We played at different universities, venues, and even at the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland, OH. Where can your fans check your music out?

Drepsea: You can find our album, "One Step to Hell" on Bandcamp, Spotify, Apple Music, etc. Music videos are on YouTube. You can follow us on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, etc. Our LinkTree has links to all of it. Anything you would like your fans to know?

Drepsea: We appreciate all of their support on this journey and we wish them all the best in 2021.


Programmable Animal's Second Release

"One Step to Hell" was released November 11, 2020





Visit The Band Here:


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page